July 23, 2024



F1 Spanish Grand Prix: Verstappen Holds off Norris at Barcelona; Hamilton Returns to Podium

2 min read
F1 Spanish Grand Prix: Verstappen Holds off Norris at Barcelona; Hamilton Returns to Podium

Max Verstappen clinched his 61st F1 victory by fending off a fast Lando Norris, with McLaren showing strong pace but ultimately outclassed by Red Bull and the Dutch driver.

Verstappen continued his dominance in Spain, entering the record books with a remarkable three consecutive Spanish Grand Prix victories. Lando Norris, who qualified and secured pole position, saw his second race win dreams go up in smoke with a slow start. Despite a valiant effort, Norris crossed the finish line in second place, a disappointing 2.2 seconds behind the relentless Verstappen. This race was a turning point for Lewis Hamilton who, after a dry spell, secured his first podium finish of the season for Mercedes. Hamilton’s teammate, George Russell, continued to impress, following closely behind in fourth place. A bright and sunny afternoon provided the perfect setting for this thrilling contest at the iconic Circuit de Catalunya in Barcelona. Also Read: F1: Alpine Announces Flavio Briatore’s Return as Executive Advisor F1 Spanish Grand Prix: Race Result Max Verstappen claimed victory at the Spanish Grand Prix with smart tyre management, securing his third consecutive win in Barcelona and solidifying his championship lead. While other drivers changed tyres frequently, Verstappen saved a fresh set of soft tyres for the final stint, giving him the edge. Ferrari struggled, with Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz finishing fifth and sixth. Alpine had a solid day, with Pierre Gasly and Esteban Ocon finishing ninth and tenth. Red Bull’s Sergio Perez, starting with a penalty from the previous race, fought back to take eighth place. Haas’ Nico Hulkenberg finished eleventh, and Fernando Alonso ended up twelfth. Pos Driver Team Time 1 Max Verstappen Red Bull 66 Laps 2 Lando Norris McLaren +2.219s 3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes  +17.790s 4 George Russell Mercedes +22.320s 5 Charles Leclerc Ferrari +22.709s 6 Carlos Sainz Ferrari +31.028s 7 Oscar Piastri McLaren +33.760s 8 Sergio Perez Red Bull +59.524s 9 Pierre Gasly Alpine +62.025s 10 Esteban Ocon Alpine +71.889s 11 Nico Hulkenberg Haas +79.215s 12 Fernando Alonso Aston Martin +1 Lap 13 Zhou Guanyu Sauber +1 Lap 14 Lance Stroll Aston Martin +1 Lap 15 Daniel Ricciardo VCARB +1 Lap 16 Valtteri Bottas Sauber +1 Lap 17 Kevin Magnussen Haas +1 Lap 18 Alex Albon Williams +1 Lap 19 Yuki Tsunoda VCARB +1 Lap 20 Logan Sargeant Williams +2 Laps Also Read: F1: Adrian Newey Reportedly Tours Aston Martin’s Silverstone Factory Amid Ongoing Negotiations VCARB’s Daniel Ricciardo had a tough race, finishing fifteenth, with recent upgrades causing more problems. Yuki Tsunoda finished nineteenth, and Williams’ rookie Logan Sargeant was twentieth. Verstappen celebrated his dominant performance, while Lando Norris regretted his sluggish start, which cost him a chance at victory.



Spanish Grand Prix

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.