May 29, 2024



Period 1 of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections at a glance

3 min read

The very first period of the Indian Lok Sabha elections, 2024, started these days with 21 states and Union territories to go to poll, with a grand overall of 102 constituencies. The elections will be executed in seven phases, from April 19 to June 1 and the votes will be counted on the 4th of June. 

The states and Union territories that will keep elections in the 1st period are Arunachal Pradesh (2 seats), Assam (5 seats), Bihar (4 seats), Chhattisgarh (1 seat), Madhya Pradesh (6 seats), Maharashtra (5 seats), Manipur (2 seats), Meghalaya (2), Mizoram (1 seat), Nagaland (1 seat), Rajasthan (12 seats), Sikkim (1 seat), Tamil Nadu (39 seats), Tripura (1 seat), Uttar Pradesh (8 seats), Uttarakhand (5 seats), West Bengal (3 seats), Andaman and Nicobar (1 seat), Jammu and Kashmir (1 seat), Lakshadweep (1 seat) and Puducherry (1 seat).

An exceptionally significant election machinery has been place in put. According to Instances of India, around 18 lakh polling officials have been assembled to manage the electoral course of action at almost 1.87 lakh polling stations. The electorate is massive, with much more than 16.63 crore voters suitable to cast their ballots. Amongst them are 35.67 lakh to start with-time voters and a sizeable chunk of 3.51 crore young voters general, among 20-29 years of age. The logistical actions taken to be certain a inconvenience cost-free approach is huge. In a report, the election board has described that 41 helicopters, 84 special trains and approximately 1 lakh cars have been deployed to transport polling and protection personnel. 

Elections will start and close in Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep and Puducherry by these days. Karnataka, Rajasthan, Tripura and Manipur will be voting in two individual phases. Chhattisgarh and Assam will be voting in a few independent phases and Odissa, Madhya Pradesh and Jharkhand will be voting in 4 separate phases. 

Main stars are casting votes

Ajith Kumar, winner of the National Film Award for Best Actor was one particular of the initial actors to solid his vote in Tamil Nadu. Aside from him, a number of Kollywood major names have also been spotted casting their votes. Dhanush, Kamal Hassan, Rajnikanth, Vijay Sethupathi, and so on have all been pictured, together with a formerly wounded Thalapathy Vijay with a bandage on his hand who was reportedly mobbed outside the house the polling booth. Vijay had not long ago introduced his intent to enter politics back in February. 

Period 1: Key candidates

Nitin Gadkari, a two-time consecutive winner from Nagpur constituency, is eyeing for a third gain.

K Annamalai, contesting from Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, stands as the encounter of BJP. He’s heading up sturdy versus formidable opponents from very long-running legacy parties of Tamil Nadu, namely DMK and AIADMK. The 39 year aged is the youngest frontrunner for BJP in Tamil Nadu. 

Jitendra Singh, contesting from Udhampur, Jammu and Kashmir, stands as a two-time winner from the constituency. He will be heading up towards Chaudhary Lal Singh, also a two-time MP of Udhampur, who has been beneath fire for his assistance of the accused in Kathua rape scenario. 

Gaurav Gogoi, contesting from Jorhat, Assam, will be championing Congress. He has been a two-time winner of the Kaliabor constituency considering that 2014 but possessing found a delimitation in 2019, he has since moved to Jorhat constituency.   

The first phase of the elections will conclude by April 26 with the onset of the second phase and it will see 89 Lok Sabha seats go to poll, which include 13 states and Union territories.

Voters may choose to vote for “None of the Above” (NOTA) classification in scenario they determine not to vote for any other celebration and convey their dissatisfaction, but a NOTA vote will not account for any conclusion on the winning bash. If, by circumstance, NOTA gains majority votes then the next greater part vote holders will be declared the winners. Hence, if a voter is of authorized age and has gained the appropriate to vote, they are advised to training it properly. Your vote counts. 

You may also be interested in – “AAP Ka RamRajya” internet site launched by Aam Aadmi Social gathering right before 2024 elections

Source connection

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.